Patience Grasshopper…

March 26, 2012

Here is the quick and obvious.

  • Dudar was a good find.
  • Someone told Russell not to blast the ball up field every time he touched it.
  • Russell is a good listener.
  • Daniel Woolard deserves his spot.
  • De Ro is more dangerous up top.
  • Salihi has not had a chance to prove himself just yet.
  • God bless Danny Cruz and his uncontrollable speed, piss and vinegar.
  • Ben Olsen’s hair is turning gray…

After four years of losing seasons it’s hard to keep the faith. Last week I wrote, then deleted before it hit the interwebs, that I was losing faith in Ben Olsen. I’m glad I managed to keep at least part of my mouth shut. Ben Olsen told us after the loss to SKC that it will take some time to see these players gel.  I won’t go from no faith to genius this week, but I got a taste of what this team could look like.

I doubt we will hear the “not enough bite” speech from Ben Olsen after Saturday’s 0-0 tie with Vancouver. DC played hard Saturday. They won more first and second balls then I’ve seen them win in a long time.  DC played the ball on the ground successfully, almost. The ball stayed on the ground through the midfield then, in the final third, they typically unleashed a wayward shot or hopeful cross to no one. If United can connect that type of play with the forwards, they can turn that one point into three.

Come on Benny, show us what you can do…

Leave a comment